Legality of the April 2018 Syria strikes [suggested readings] [EN/MK]

A summary of latest posts discussing the (il)legality of the recent attacks on Syria, conducted by US, UK and France (though some refer to the 2017 attacks which happened under similar circumstances)

[MK] Листа на објави во кои се дискутира (не)легалноста на скорешните вооружени напади на Сирија, од страна на САД, Велика Британија и Франција (некои од постовите се однесуваат на нападите од 2017, кои се случуваат под слични околности)

 

Authors trying to provide legal justification// Автори кои нудат аргументација за правна оправданост на нападите:

 

Monika Hakimi: The Attack on Syria and the Contemporary Jus ad Bellum https://www.ejiltalk.org/the-attack-on-syria-and-the-contemporary-jus-ad-bellum/

 

(On 2017 strikes) Harold Hongju Koh: Not Illegal: But Now the Hard Part Begins https://www.justsecurity.org/39695/illegal-hard-part-begins/

Harold Hongju Koh: The Real “Red Line” Behind Trump’s April 2018 Syria Strikes https://www.justsecurity.org/54952/real-red-linebehind-trumps-april-2018-syria-strikes/

 

(On 2017 strikes) Jens David Ohlin: I agree with Harold Koh http://opiniojuris.org/2017/04/08/i-agree-with-harold-koh/

 

(On 2017 strikes) Julian Ku: Almost Everyone Agrees that the U.S. Strikes Against Syria are Illegal, Except for Most Governments http://opiniojuris.org/2017/04/07/almost-everyone-agrees-that-the-u-s-strikes-against-syria-are-illegal-under-international-law-except-for-most-governments/

 

Bonus/Бонус:

 

Syria action – UK government legal position https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/syria-action-uk-government-legal-position/syria-action-uk-government-legal-position

 

Authors arguing against the lawfulness of the attacks//Автори кои тврдат дека нападите не се во согласност со правото:

 

Mary Ellen O’Connell: Unlawful Reprisals to the Rescue against Chemical Attacks? https://www.ejiltalk.org/unlawful-reprisals-to-the-rescue-against-chemical-attacks/

 

Marko Milanovic: The Syria Strikes: Still Clearly Illegal https://www.ejiltalk.org/the-syria-strikes-still-clearly-illegal/

 

Kevin Jon Heller: The Coming Attack on Syria Will Be Unlawful http://opiniojuris.org/2018/04/12/the-coming-attack-on-syria-will-be-unlawful/

 

Jack Goldsmith, Oona Hathaway: Bad Legal Arguments for the Syria Airstrikes https://lawfareblog.com/bad-legal-arguments-syria-airstrikes

 

Jack Goldsmith, Oona Hathaway: The Downsides of Bombing Syria https://lawfareblog.com/downsides-bombing-syria Summary of states’ positions

 

World reacts to overnight strikes on Syria by US, UK and French forces https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/apr/14/airstrikes-syria-world-reacts-bombing-us-uk-french-forces

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.